Transmission 1.30.2012 Sunday Nights

1.29.2012 23:50
I hung with Dave for a while last night; I don’t get many opportunities to see him, so when he’s in town, I make time for him. It was Sunday night, so nothing was going on for me, just a shower, some chow and preparation for the upcoming week.

It’s always great seeing Dave; I haven’t seen him the Argonauts played this house show in New Brunswick during last year’s fall. I remember following the GPS directions and pulling up in front of the house and realizing that it was down the street from where Chris Pierce used to live. Anodyne recorded the “Red was her Favorite Color” and “Berkowitz” 7-in’s there. Memories; time flies on broken wings sometimes. .This time there was some added charm because he played e the new Argonauts demo and a few songs off of the new, recently recorded and mastered Municipal Waste. We sat in his car and kicked the hard jams. The Argonauts stuff was recorded in a practice space by Phil and crushed! John writes such memorable, catchy riffs; they’re brutal, intense, get inside your head, fuck you up and bounce. I’ve been a fan of his since the Times Up days. Listening to the demo made me feel nostalgic for the late-90’s, playing shows together, Stalag 13, the Black Army Jacket days, the early Burnt by the Sun shows and getting to know those guys. I find myself becoming more and more sentimental as the years go by. I remember those days and it feels like another lifetime ago; the years move quickly, like moving targets, one moment they’re in front of you and then become memories.

Next up was a few tracks from the new Municipal Waste record. A Steve Moore, Italian zombie-movie flavored intro counted off the thrash mayhem that everyone expects from a Municipal waste record. What differentiates these guys from the other bands from this ilk, and the same can be said about Toxic Holocaust, is that the songs are memorable and well-executed. It doesn’t just feel like a study in late-80’s thrash, it’s a listening experience. I don’t want to be a hater, but a lot of the newer thrash bands don’t hit that stride that The Waste and Toxic hit. Maybe it’s because The Waste have been around since before playing retro metal was cool. Anyway, all the components are there, ripping guitar solos, Suicidal-esque riffage and probably Tony’s best vocal performance to date.

Man, I always want to feel this way; I always want to do this: sitting in a car with one of my best friends, listening to new jams and getting stoked.

It’s still early, I’m not tired at all. The month is almost over. I hate time of year; January is always such a slow desolate month. I’m looking forward to getting out on the road again, pushing it hard and not looking back. 2011 was a hard year and I want to put it behind me.

Leave a Reply

