Transmission 2.2.2011

It’s been a long ride but the end of the line is in sight.We’ve been living with the record for over a year; it was about this time last year that I started correspondence with Congleton about doing our next record. 2010 was a rough year, we had two major tours canceled, it seemed like the whole year was a struggle.

I went to the mastering session about two weeks ago up in East Windsor, NY with Alan Douches at West West Side Music. I’ve been working with Alan for over ten years, it there’s enough budget available, I go to Alan. Ice and snow was forecast so I drove up to my parents’ place the night before. They live about 30 minutes away, so I figured that I would get on the road early, take it slow and give myself enough time to get up there in one piece.

When I woke up, it was all ice and misery. I had my morning coffee with my parents and shipped out at 08:00. It was even worse when I got on the road; I-84 was like a sheet of ice. it was an ordeal trying to keep the van on the road as I crossed the Newburgh Bridge. I got an email from Alan telling me that his road hasn’t been plowed and that he’s looking at delaying the session to noon. I was already halfway to New Windsor.

I posted up at a Dunkin’ Donuts and waiting until I got the word from Alan. we got down to it at around 14:00. It’s always a great experience up at West West Side. Alan Douches is a top engineer and the whole vibe is comfortable and completely professional. He’s full of stories and part of the whole trip is hearing the running narrative about everything from the current records, developments in 5.1 surround sound and working with Danzig and the Misfits over the years. I left the studio at around 23:00 and drove back through the fog to my parents’ place.

The final artwork proofs were just put into circulation so everyone can get their comments. It looks intense. Over the next few months we’ll be posting some of the artwork as we draw closer to the release date, which at this time, is June 7. It seems like an eternity. At this point, I want to get it out and hit the road.

In about 6 weeks we ship out for a short tour with Wormrot and the dates down to South by South West with Castevet. I wish we were leaving tomorrow. It’s been a long dead winter and I’m anxious to get on with it.

I’ve been getting into Joe Rogan’s podcast, check it out. It rules.

2 Responses to “Transmission 2.2.2011”

  1. I’ve been following you since someone convinced me to check you guys out @ SxSWest. I couldnt make it back to NOLA in time to catch the New Orleans show. I missed the Wormrot show due to illness.

    I really enjoyed your comments on Dio early in the year. Hopefully you guys will stop in New Orleans again this year…thanks for the good music, I appreciate it nd look forward to the new album.

  2. Thanks, I’m always grateful when someone appreciates what we do. We’ll be heading back to New Orleans with Wormrot next month. Hope to see you on the road.

Leave a Reply

