Transmission 12.28.2010 My Personal Top Ten for 2010

The year is drawing to a close, shot to Hell. Good riddance 2010. Below is my Top Ten for this past year, not one of best, and full of heartache, pain, depression and obstacles. I hope 2011 will be better. The list5 isn’t necessarily my list of “Best Records” or anything like that, though music is represented. It’s more of a “High Points of 2010.”
Please feel free to weigh in with your own lists.

MY FAVORITE THINGS OF 2010 (IN NO PARTICULAR ORDER)
1. ISIS / TOMBS / JAKOB WEST COAST TOUR
It was their last tour and I felt fortunate to be part of it, my only wish was that I could have been at the last show in Montreal. It was a great tour; good times, an opportunity to play in some of my favorite cities in the country and I can’t think of better travel companions than Isis and our new friends in Jakob.
2. TOMBS / PLANKS TOUR
We toured together on our first trip to Europe and the UK so it was only fitting that we toured together on Planks first journey to the States.
3. A SERBIAN FILM
This film is not for everybody, however, it was inevitable that something like this was going to be made one of these days. Aside from being one of the most intensely disturbing films I’ve ever seen, it’s also emotionally powerful. There’s a lot of controversy surrounding this film, but try and find a copy, check it out and decide for yourself.
4. DEATHSPELL OMEGA – PARACLETUS
Every record pushes the envelope of extreme music further and further. It’s both frightening and extremely beautiful at the same time.
5. TRIPTYKON – EPARISTERA DAIMONES
This was my most anticipated releases of the year. Tom Gabriel Fischer is a true artist and the overlapping worlds of metal, punk and hardcore owe a lot to his creative output manifested in Hellhammer, Celtic Frost, Apollyon Sun and now Triptykon. This record pretty much has it all, icy black metal, oppressive dirges and dark, hypnotic melodies.
6. KEITH MORRIS / OFF!
When I received my orders from Fred Brooklyn Vegan that I was to interview Keith Morris I was overtaken by a series of emotions: “anxiety”, “excitement”, “intimidation” to name only a few. Keith is a legend, at least in my eyes. He was the first front man of Black Flag, a band that has had a huge impact on my life. I remember sitting in this office waiting for him to finish up a phone interview. I heard that voice from down the hall and I thought to myself, “I’m going to meet Keith Morris.” It was a wild ride to say the least.
7. WALKING DEAD SEASON 1
Having been a fan of the long-running comic book series, it was with much trepidation that I watched the first episode of this horror masterpiece. It was either going to suck or be awesome. Lucky for me (and the multitude of other viewers), it did not disappoint. To me, it lived up to the hype and delivered all that it promised it would. It’s a drama with horrific elements, primarily about people and their struggle to survive and remain human in the face of the apocalypse.
8. UNEARTHLY TRANCE – V
The best record by a band that doesn’t know how to make a bad record.
9. PLANKS – THE DARKEST OR GRAYS
Great live band, great people and finally an album that fully captures their intensity.
10. WATAIN – LAWLESS DARKNESS
I like “Sworn to the Dark” better, but this is by far one of the best metal records to come out in 2010.

4 Responses to “Transmission 12.28.2010 My Personal Top Ten for 2010”

  1. Adam666.666 Says:

    As my year was brutally awful as well I will stick to music. Not much metal this year. But depressing pop records are good too.

    1.Gods and queens “untitled II”
    2.Off with their heads “In Desolation”
    3.Gaslight Anthem “American Slang”
    4.Frightened Rabbit “Winter of Mixed Drinks”
    5. Flatliners “Cavelcade”
    6.Against Me! “White Crosses”
    7.Iron chic “Not Like This”
    8.The national “Violet”
    9.Thou “Summit”
    10. This comp kills fascists vol 2

  2. A Serbian Film was definitely disturbing. I immediately deleted it from my hard drive after watching. The Walking Dead is great too!

  3. Tacoman666 Says:

    1.Gods and queens “untitled II”
    2.Off with their heads “In Desolation”
    3.Gaslight Anthem “American Slang”
    4.Frightened Rabbit “Winter of Mixed Drinks”
    5. Flatliners “Cavelcade”
    6.Against Me! “White Crosses”
    7.Iron chic “Not Like This”
    8.The national “Violet”
    9.Thou “Summit”
    10. Off “first four eps”

Leave a Reply

