Transmission 5.19.2010

We leave for the Isis tour in a little over a week.  It’s a short run, but I’ll take it over sitting home and working a job.  I’ve been looking forward to it as soon as we were offered the slot; it felt like the old days, my phone rang, I was asked if we would be into hitting the road together and that was pretty much the end of the story.

As usual, I’m starting to enter the pre-tour anxiety trip of trying to get everything squared away before we leave.  We have a few rehearsals left before we ship out, there’s a lot of logistical issues involved with this run such as flights, van and equipment and the added challenge of Maryland Death Fest.  It’s all good stuff and I don’t want to complain,  we’re fortunate that we have these opportunities.

There’s been a lot of death lately, on a personal level and also in the “celebrity” arena with Frank Frazetta and Ronnie James Dio passing away.  I listened to “Man on the Silver Mountain” from “Ritchie Blackmore’s Rainbow and went right into the Sabbath records “Mob Rules” and “Heaven and Hell.”  I can’t reconcile the fact that I never saw Dio live.  That chance slipped away.

That leads into a bigger lesson: don’t wait until tomorrow or the next day to do something.  Do it.  Do it hard and with intensity.

I’ve been dealing with a lot of exhaustion, depression and overall melancholy these past weeks but I guess the important thing is that as long as you’re breathing, you can turn it around.  Sometimes, life feels so long and painful, bu the reality is that we don’t have very much time on this planet, so it’s our responsibility to get as much in as possible.

6 Responses to “Transmission 5.19.2010”

  1. I have been cranking “Man on the Silver Mountain” since Dio’s passing. Funny that you picked that one as well.
    Saw him in 84 (ish?) Music holds up.
    Did you read “Spray Paint the Walls”? Greg Ginn “Dio….It’s Italian for God”

    • I haven’t read “Spray Paint the Walls” yet. It’s definitely on my list. From all of my other reading about Black Flag, I caught on that Ginn was a Dio/Rainbow fan.
      Dude, I regularly play Rainbow and the first two Dio records as well as Mob Rules and Heaven and Hell. Demanizer is pretty sick as well.

  2. Motoghost Says:

    I can’t wait to finally see Tombs live, after the Mayhem tour was canceled I was bummed thinking I’d have to wait even longer to see you guys play. I know the first thing I put on in remembering Dio was “Rainbow in the Dark”, it was my introduction to Dio at age 8. We definitely don’t have a lot of time, I realize that more everyday. Coming from my still young musical mind I haven’t really explored much of Rainbow’s discography, is there a record you recommend as a good starting point?

    • We’re looking forward to getting out on the road soon. 2010 isn’t as busy as 2009 was as far as touring goes.
      I’m going to suggest that you pick up “Ritchie Blackmore’s Rainbow” their first record which features the mighty song “Man on the Silver Mountain.” Then I would move on “Rising.”

      See you on the road.
      Hill

  3. I can’t wait to finally see Tombs live, after the Mayhem tour was canceled I was bummed thinking I’d have to wait even longer to see you guys play. I know the first thing I put on in remembering Dio was “Rainbow in the Dark”, it was my introduction to Dio at age 8. We definitely don’t have a lot of time, I realize that more everyday. Coming from my still young musical mind I haven’t really explored much of Rainbow’s discography, is there a record you recommend as a good starting point?
    +1

Leave a Reply

