Transmission 5.16.2010 Ronnie James Dio

Ronnie James Dio passed away this morning at 07:45. Initially I thought it might be a hoax, but sadly, it’s the truth. I never saw Dio play live and now I never will.
I remember hearing Dio first when he fronted Sabbath on the “Heaven and Hell” record, back in the 80’s when I was a kid. As a matter of fact, that was the first Black Sabbath record I had heard. This older dude that I knew played it for me and it blew me away. I later discovered that he had been in Ritchie Blackmore’s Rainbow and another band called Elf, prior to being Sabbath’s singer. I have been a fan ever since, checking out all of his solo material, “Dehumanizer”, his return to Sabbath and finally Heaven and Hell.
The thing that impressed me most with Ronnie James Dio, aside from his stentorian voice, was that he continued on, recording and touring, for the rest of his life. He died at 67 years of age leaving behind a mighty legacy of music.

Leave a Reply

